The A3 Press publishesThe A3 Review, an international literary and art magazine. We are currently reading manuscripts for our new chapbook press that will launch in March 2019, and will open again for mansucript submissions in February. You can pre-order our first six titles here.

The A3 Review is open for submissions.

Please scroll down to enter upcoming contests. 

We welcome submissions from everywhere in the world.

Each month's two winning entries will appear in The A3 Review, a fold-out literary and art magazine published every six  months. The current issue is Issue 9 (The Circles Issue), which came out in October 2018.

Issue 10 (The Triangles Issue): Edited by Shaun Levin. The two winning entries from each month, September 2018 till February 2019,  will make up the list of contributors to Issue 10. From this list, three overall winning entries will be chosen in February 2019. These three ultimate  winners will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx $325, $195, $95). Issue 10 will appear in early April 2019.

Writing: No more than 150 words for prose and poetry (title not included). Poems no longer than 30 lines in total.

Art: Must fit into an A6 panel. That's about 4" x 6" or 10 x 15cm. Please send as low-res in the first instance. If your work is accepted, we'll ask for a hi-res image.

There is a fee of $5 (approx £3.50) per entry to help us cover admin and printing costs and to make sure we can keep offering cash prizes.

Follow us on Twitter for conversation, updates and inspiration. Sign up to The A3 Review newsletter here.

These are The Rules for our monthly contests:

1. Entry fee is $5 (approx £3.50) per submission. Multiple entries are welcome, though each must be uploaded as a separate submission.

2. Enter online through Submittable. 

3. Each contest closes on the 4th Saturday of the month.

4. Any entries submitted after the deadline will not be eligible.

5. The A3 Review's Monthly Contest is open to all writers and artists over 16.

6. We encourage prose, poems, prose poems, graphic stories, hybrid forms, photography, illustration, painting.

7. Maximum number of words is 150. Poems must be no longer than 30 lines.

8. Artwork, graphic and comics stories must fit into an A6 panel.

9. Two winning entries from each month with appear in The A3 Review to be published every 6 months. From this shortlist of winners, 3 will be chosen to win cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

10. Entries must be available for The A3 Review, and must not have been previously published (including on blogs).

11. The judges' verdict is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

12. Entries cannot be substituted once they have been submitted.

13. Judging is anonymous. 

14. Name and contact details must not appear on the entries.

15. Submission of entry is taken to be an unqualified acceptance of these rules.

Welcome to The A3 Review's December Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Parties. It’s that time of year. Our deadline is just before Christmas, so we're looking for party-inspired stories, poetry and art. Photography, illustration, comics about office parties and work dos. We’re looking for stories, mini-essays, poems and artwork about bunting, pool parties, birthday parties, the dinner party that went overboard. Compile a poem out of your dream dinner-party guest list? What’s it like being the life and soul of the party? Create a character sketch of a party pooper. Make a list poem or collage out of the paraphernalia of parties.

Think: Tupperware parties, stag parties, surprise and tea parties. Send us pictures of the aftermath, poems about the preparations, and stories about the first birthday party you'd like to forget.

And let’s get political, too. What’s your party line? Write a political manifesto for your new political party in 150 words or less. What’s your plan for a better world? 

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter

DEADLINE: 22 December 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #10 of The A3 Review in early April 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps goodies.   

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes of £175 for 1st; £100 for 2nd; and £75 for 3rd (approx: $220, $130, and $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique. 

Welcome to The A3 Review's January Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Top. This is our first contest with a deadline in 2019; ie. the top of the year. So our theme is top. Everything from spinning tops (Hanukah!) to sexual positions (winter!). Speaking of which, write about top-shelf magazines... the first time you noticed them/bought them/sold them. Now, how do we remove the sexual innuendo from other top-related suggestions like cherry on the top, and the time you blew your top. 

Let's start again and take it from the top. We're looking for poems, prose and artwork about keeping things top secret. What's it like to keep a secret? Write about the thrill of travelling at top speed. Send us illustrations and comics about the food chain and who's on top of it.

You could write along to The Carpenters singing "Top of the World" or be inspired by treetop living.

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, mini-plays, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter

DEADLINE: 26 January 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #10 of The A3 Review in early April 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps goodies.   

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes of £175 for 1st; £100 for 2nd; and £75 for 3rd (approx: $220, $130, and $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique. 

Pre-order the first 6 Chapbooks from The A3 Press

Our new chapbook press launches in March 2019. Our aim is to be a space for urgent work that says something about  what it's like to be alive at this point in time. We'll publish lyrical and intense work, work that's a bit weird, hybrid, experimental. 

Prose, poetry, plays, illustration, photography, comics, non-fiction, and any hybrid of those and other genres are welcome. We will re-open for submissions in February.

By pre-ordering the first six titles, you're helping to make sure we  can design and print our titles to the highest standards, and most  importantly, we can pay our artists and writers.

Thanks for your support, and we look forward to sharing our new titles with you in March 2019.

The editors of The A3 Review offer a Brief Critique Service for writers looking for knowledgeable and forward-looking feedback on their work. We are passionate about writing and believe strongly that rewriting and refining a poem or short story is an essential and satisfying part of a writers's development.

We will suggest ways to revisit and strengthen your short story or poem. Through our feedback, we will aim to offer you tools to carry forward into the other stories and poems you are working on.

Critiques are for prose and poetry up to 150 words.

An overview of what we offer:
  • 200-word feedback
  • a line edit, via Track Changes, of your work
  • where relevant, suggestions for further reading
We look forward to being part of the ongoing development of your work.
 
About the Editors:

Shaun Levin, Editor, is the author of Seven Sweet Things, Trees at a Sanatorium, and the short story collections A Year of Two Summers and Snapshots of The Boy. His short stories and essays have been anthologised alongside writers such as Ali Smith, Nadine Gordimer and Edmund White. He has won an Arts Council Writers' Award and the Moment-Karma Short Fiction Prize, judged by Jonathan Safran Foer. Shaun is the founding editor of the literary magazine Chroma, and the creator of Writing Maps. Anthologies he has edited include Things that Have Happened and Writers in the Crowd.

KM Elkes, Editor, has had winning stories in, amongst others, the Bath Short Story Award 2015 and the Labello Press International Short Story Competition 2014. He won the Prolitzer Prize 2014, Brighter Writers Flash Prize 2014, Fish Publishing Flash Fiction Prize 2013, Words With Jam Prize 2013. His stories have appeared in anthologies including the Fish Prize Anthology, An Earthless Melting Pot 1, 2 & 3, Your Messages, Heat, Conspicuous Accents, Lightship Anthology 3, Words With Jam, Labello Press Gem Street Anthology and Aesthetica Annual Anthology. And in literary magazines such as Structo, Accenti Magazine (Canada), Litro and online at East Of The Web. His fiction has also been used on schools and college curriculum in USA, Canada, Switzerland, UK and China (Hong Kong).

What people say:

"Shaun's biggest gift to me was to teach me never to be satisfied with the mediocre - to dig beneath my words until I found their core beauty or anger or power; in other words to find the truth of what I was trying to say." Rosie Rowell, author of Leopold Blue.

"I was impressed by the breadth and depth of the service, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for the kind of feedback that is both challenging and supportive. A combination of written critique and detailed edit of my manuscript provided tremendous scope for my learning, and helped identify the most critical areas for focus." Dr Jacqui Scholes-Rhodes.

Welcome to The A3 Review's February Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Romance. A Valentine's month deadline calls for some loving. What with the way the world is at the moment, some romance would not go amiss. Send us love poems and love stories. Write a mini-essay about The Art of the Cuddle. Send us illustrations of creatures holding hands. 

Write about dating and what you love and hate about it. The last or first date you went on. Create a list poem out of these old-fashioned dating rituals. Send us a very short play about a very bad date, or a praise song to that perfect date. Be inspired (or disturbed) by Daniel Borzutzky's poem "The Ecstasy of Capitulation." Write about dates who lied or the date that got away (if only I'd said this, if only I hadn't done that), or create a comic about chivalry.

Send us meditations, rants, abstract drawings, rules and survival tips about romance. 

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter

DEADLINE: 23 February 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #10 of The A3 Review in early April 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps goodies.   

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes of £175 for 1st; £100 for 2nd; and £75 for 3rd (approx: $220, $130, and $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

The A3 Review