The A3 Press publishes chapbooks andThe A3 Review, an international literary and art magazine. 

  • We hold monthly contests throughout the year for The A3 Review
  • Our current reading period for A3 Press chapbooks closes on the 21st of June 2019. You can see our first five titles here or order them through the option below.

Please scroll down to enter upcoming contests and to submit your manuscript to The A3 Press. 

We welcome submissions from everywhere in the world.

Each month's two winning entries will appear in The A3 Review, a fold-out literary and art magazine published every six  months. The current issue is Issue 10 (The Triangles Issue), which came out in April 2019.

Issue 11 (The Squares Issue): Edited by Shaun Levin. The two winning entries from each month, February - August 2019,  will make up the list of contributors to Issue 11. From this list, three overall winning entries will be chosen in September 2019. These three ultimate winners will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx $325, $195, $95). Issue 11 will appear in October 2019.

Writing: No more than 150 words for prose and poetry (title not included). Poems no longer than 30 lines in total.

Art: Must fit into an A6 panel. That's about 4" x 6" or 10 x 15cm. Please send as low-res in the first instance. If your work is accepted, we'll ask for a hi-res image.

There is a fee of $5 (approx £3.50) per entry to help us cover admin and printing costs and to make sure we can keep offering cash prizes.

Follow us on Twitter for conversation, updates and inspiration. Sign up to The A3 Review newsletter here.

These are The Rules for our monthly contests:

1. Entry fee is $5 (approx £3.50) per submission. Multiple entries are welcome, though each must be uploaded as a separate submission.

2. Enter online through Submittable. 

3. Each contest closes on the 4th Saturday of the month.

4. Any entries submitted after the deadline will not be eligible.

5. The A3 Review's Monthly Contest is open to all writers and artists over 16.

6. We encourage prose, poems, prose poems, graphic stories, hybrid forms, photography, illustration, painting.

7. Maximum number of words is 150. Poems must be no longer than 30 lines.

8. Artwork, graphic and comics stories must fit into an A6 panel.

9. Two winning entries from each month with appear in The A3 Review to be published every 6 months. From this shortlist of winners, 3 will be chosen to win cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

10. Entries must be available for The A3 Review, and must not have been previously published (including on blogs).

11. The judges' verdict is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

12. Entries cannot be substituted once they have been submitted.

13. Judging is anonymous. 

14. Name and contact details must not appear on the entries.

15. Submission of entry is taken to be an unqualified acceptance of these rules.

The A3 Press publishes chapbooks of prose, poetry and art. We're open for submissions until the 21st of June 2019.

Do you have a series of poems or short stories, or maybe a long story that can be spread out over several pages? How about a short play in 12 parts or scenes, or even 12 very short plays? Do you have a combination of drawings and short stories? Or poems and photographs? Or maybe 12 drawings or photographs without text that would fit into our A3 map-fold format?

Think of us as a place for work that might struggle to find a traditional home, work that's lyrical and intense, a bit weird, perhaps, hybrid, experimental. We also welcome work that's traditionally beautiful. We like work that is urgent, that says something about what it's like to be alive at this point in history.  

Our first five titles launched in March 2019. We publish 4-6 new titles every six months.

Each title will receive individual care. As we do with all our publications, we want The A3 Press' titles to be intriguing objects as well as inspiring and thought-provoking reads. We work closely with our writers and artists throughout the editing process, and will make sure the design, paper, and packaging are relevant to each title. 

The one thing all A3 Press titles will have in common is our signature A3 map-fold format. You can see what that looks like if you also check out The A3 Review or our Writing Maps.

Some examples of possible manuscripts:

  • 12 - 14 poems
  • 12 - 14 page comic, depending on size of panels
  • 12 - 14 short stories (each story approx 150-200 words)
  • 1 longer short story or poem (2000-2500 words)
  • 12 very short plays or a play in 12 parts
  • 12 - 14 photographs or illustrations
  • 7 stories with 7 photographs or illustrations

We encourage you to visualise how you work will appear in our A3 map-fold format. If you have layout and design ideas, please include your suggestions along with your submission.

Our chapbooks look like maps, so you might want to send us work that is structured around a physical or emotional journey, or work about getting lost (or found). Each chapbook has about 14 panels, some of which may be taken up by images. Do you have a work that divides nicely into 12 sections, for example? A series of 12 sonnets? A story told in 12 chapters? 

Please do spread the word about our new publishing venture, especially among friends and writing networks where experimental, urgent and necessary work is being created.  

DEADLINE: 21 June 2019

A shortlist will be announced on the 15th of July, and the winning titles will be announced on the 10th of August.

The submission fee is $20 (approx £15) per submission. Multiple submissions are welcome, as are all genres. All writers and artists welcome.

The submission fee ensures that we can design and print our titles to the highest standards, and most importantly, it means we can pay our artists and writers.

The selected titles will each receive £200 (approx. $255) and 10 copies of their title.

We welcome collaborative work, though payment of £200 is per title. Previously published work is acceptable, though not if your work has been published in its entirety.

Please submit your work as a single document.

Welcome to The A3 Review's June Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Carpentry & Home Economics. And other practical things you learnt at school to take forward (or not) into life. Who taught you to sew on a button? How to build a bookstand or bake a cake. Poems and stories about woodwork class, cooking class, art class. Dreading them or loving them. Your own memories or told from a teacher's point of view.

You could write about your carpentry teacher, or the tools you used in a home economics class. Who even remembers Home Ec? Write about a fight breaking out or about a romantic encounter. 

Find inspiration in Carl Dennis' surprising poem "Carpentry" or via the NPR piece on Family & Consumer Sciences

For more inspiration about school, take a look at the Write Through School Writing Map.

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter.

DEADLINE: 22 June 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here.

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #11 of The A3 Review in early October 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps.

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

Welcome to The A3 Review's July Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Story of a Square. As in: a plaza or piazza. Trafalgar Square, Times Square, the Jemaa el-Fnaa in Marrakesh, Piazza San Marco in Venice or the quiet square not far from where you (or a character) lives. Think Georges Perec's An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris, but in 150 words! 

Write about a character visiting a city square at the same time every day, or Agatha Christie chancing upon a quiet plaza in Tenerife, or the importance of a particular square in your life. Write about a city square with political resonance: tell the story of one of the Mothers of Plaza de Mayo or a protestor at Tiananmen Square. Poems, short stories, or comics (graphic stories) particularly welcomed.

Visit William Greenway's Plaza of Illustrious Men or Isabella Gardener's Piazza del Limbo, or be inspired by the pigeons in Jayne Cortez's poem.

For more neighbourhood inspiration, check out the Write Up Your Street Writing Map.

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter.

DEADLINE: 27 July 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here.

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #11 of The A3 Review in early October 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps.

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

The A3 Press is a space for urgent work that says something about  what it's like to be alive at this point in time. We publish lyrical and intense work, work that's a bit weird, hybrid, experimental. 

By ordering our first five titles you'll also be supporting the press and making sure we  can design and print our titles to the highest standards, and most importantly, continue to pay our artists and writers.

Thanks for your support.

Our first five titles are:

  • the abyss of the other by Cecilia Cavalieri
  • Palatable by Solange Leon Iriarte
  • The Unit by Jason Jackson
  • My New Car by Alan Sincic
  • MASH by Lena Ziegler

The A3 Review offers a Brief Critique Service for writers looking for knowledgeable and forward-looking feedback on their work. We are passionate about writing and believe strongly that rewriting and refining a poem or short story is an essential and satisfying part of a writer's development. 

We will suggest ways to revisit and strengthen your short story or poem. Through our feedback, we aim to offer you tools to carry forward into other stories and poems you are working on.

Critiques are for prose and poetry up to 150 words.

An overview of what we offer:

  • 200-word feedback
  • a line edit of your work via Track Changes
  • where relevant, suggestions for further reading

We look forward to being part of the ongoing development of your work.

About the Editor:

Shaun Levin, Editor, is the author of Seven Sweet Things, Trees at a Sanatorium, and the short story collections A Year of Two Summers and Snapshots of The Boy. His short stories and essays have been anthologised alongside writers such as Ali Smith, Nadine Gordimer and Edmund White. He has won an Arts Council Writers' Award and the Moment-Karma Short Fiction Prize, judged by Jonathan Safran Foer. Shaun is the founding editor of the literary magazine Chroma, and the creator of Writing Maps. Anthologies he has edited include Things that Have Happened and Writers in the Crowd.

What people say:

"Shaun's biggest gift to me was to teach me never to be satisfied with  the mediocre - to dig beneath my words until I found their core beauty  or anger or power; in other words to find the truth of what I was trying  to say." Rosie Rowell, author of Leopold Blue.

"I was impressed by the breadth and depth of the service, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for the kind of feedback that is both challenging and supportive. A combination of written critique and detailed edit of my manuscript provided tremendous scope for my learning, and helped identify the most critical areas for focus." Dr Jacqui Scholes-Rhodes.

The A3 Review and Press