The A3 Press publishes chapbooks andThe A3 Review, an international literary and art magazine. 

  • We hold monthly contests throughout the year for The A3 Review
  • The reading period for A3 Press chapbooks opens again on the 4th of October 2019. You can see our first five titles here or order them through the option below.

Please scroll down to enter upcoming contests. 

We welcome submissions from everywhere in the world.

Each month's two winning entries will appear in The A3 Review, a fold-out literary and art magazine published every six  months. The current issue is Issue 10 (The Triangles Issue), which came out in April 2019.

Issue 11 (The Squares Issue): Edited by Shaun Levin. The two winning entries from each month, February - August 2019,  will make up the list of contributors to Issue 11. From this list, three overall winning entries will be chosen in September 2019. These three ultimate winners will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx $325, $195, $95). Issue 11 will appear in October 2019.

Writing: Up to 150 words for prose and poetry (title not included). Poems no longer than 30 lines.

Art: Must fit into an A6 panel. That's about 4" x 6" or 10 x 15cm. Please send as low-res in the first instance. If your work is accepted, we'll ask for a hi-res image.

There is a fee of $5 (approx £3.50) per entry to help us cover admin and printing costs and to make sure we can keep offering cash prizes.

Follow us on Twitter for conversation, updates and inspiration. Sign up to The A3 Review newsletter here.

These are The Rules for our monthly contests:

1. Entry fee is $5 (approx £3.50) per submission. Multiple entries are welcome, though each must be uploaded as a separate submission.

2. Enter online through Submittable. 

3. Each contest closes on the 4th Saturday of the month.

4. Any entries submitted after the deadline will not be eligible.

5. The A3 Review's Monthly Contest is open to all writers and artists over 16.

6. We encourage prose, poems, prose poems, graphic stories, hybrid forms, photography, illustration, painting.

7. Maximum number of words is 150. Poems must be no longer than 30 lines.

8. Artwork, graphic and comics stories must fit into an A6 panel.

9. Two winning entries from each month with appear in The A3 Review to be published every 6 months. From this shortlist of winners, 3 will be chosen to win cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

10. Entries must be available for The A3 Review, and must not have been previously published (including on blogs).

11. The judges' verdict is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

12. Entries cannot be substituted once they have been submitted.

13. Judging is anonymous. 

14. Name and contact details must not appear on the entries.

15. Submission of entry is taken to be an unqualified acceptance of these rules.

Welcome to The A3 Review's July Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Story of a Square. As in: a plaza or piazza. Trafalgar Square, Times Square, the Jemaa el-Fnaa in Marrakesh, Piazza San Marco in Venice or the quiet square not far from where you (or a character) lives. Think Georges Perec's An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris, but in 150 words! 

Write about a character visiting a city square at the same time every day, or Agatha Christie chancing upon a quiet plaza in Tenerife, or the importance of a particular square in your life. Write about a city square with political resonance: tell the story of one of the Mothers of Plaza de Mayo or a protestor at Tiananmen Square. Poems, short stories, or comics (graphic stories) particularly welcomed.

Visit William Greenway's Plaza of Illustrious Men or Isabella Gardener's Piazza del Limbo, or be inspired by the pigeons in Jayne Cortez's poem.

For more neighbourhood inspiration, check out the Write Up Your Street Writing Map.

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter.

DEADLINE: 27 July 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here.

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #11 of The A3 Review in early October 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps.

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

Welcome to The A3 Review's August Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Money or the Box? Write about game shows and radio phone-ins. Tell the story of surprising wins and spectacular losses. Write about the masochist who finds thrills in losing, or the demonically-driven who'll do anything to win. 

Go a bit left field and write about competitions like breath-holding contests or go meta and write a poem about entering writing contests. 

You could write a 150-word piece from three different points of view: first, second and third place in a race. Who gets the most words? Write about contests, races, games, fights or tournaments that you've won, lost or witnessed. 

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter.

DEADLINE: 24 August 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here.

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #11 of The A3 Review in early October 2019. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps.

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the March till August contests will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

The A3 Review offers a Brief Critique Service for writers looking for knowledgeable and forward-looking feedback on their work. We are passionate about writing and believe strongly that rewriting and refining a poem or short story is an essential and satisfying part of a writer's development. 

We will suggest ways to revisit and strengthen your short story or poem. Through our feedback, we aim to offer you tools to carry forward into other stories and poems you are working on.

Critiques are for prose and poetry up to 150 words.

An overview of what we offer:

  • 200-word feedback
  • a line edit of your work via Track Changes
  • where relevant, suggestions for further reading

We look forward to being part of the ongoing development of your work.

About the Editor:

Shaun Levin, Editor, is the author of Seven Sweet Things, Trees at a Sanatorium, and the short story collections A Year of Two Summers and Snapshots of The Boy. His short stories and essays have been anthologised alongside writers such as Ali Smith, Nadine Gordimer and Edmund White. He has won an Arts Council Writers' Award and the Moment-Karma Short Fiction Prize, judged by Jonathan Safran Foer. Shaun is the founding editor of the literary magazine Chroma, and the creator of Writing Maps. Anthologies he has edited include Things that Have Happened and Writers in the Crowd.

What people say:

"Shaun's biggest gift to me was to teach me never to be satisfied with  the mediocre - to dig beneath my words until I found their core beauty  or anger or power; in other words to find the truth of what I was trying  to say." Rosie Rowell, author of Leopold Blue.

"I was impressed by the breadth and depth of the service, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for the kind of feedback that is both challenging and supportive. A combination of written critique and detailed edit of my manuscript provided tremendous scope for my learning, and helped identify the most critical areas for focus." Dr Jacqui Scholes-Rhodes.

The A3 Review and Press