The A3 Press publishes chapbooks and The A3 Review, an international literary and art magazine. 

  • The current reading period for The A3 Press is open until 10th December 2019.
  • We hold monthly contests throughout the year for The A3 Review

Please click here for the full A3 Press Chapbook submission guidelines.

Scroll down to enter upcoming monthly contests. 

We welcome submissions from everywhere in the world.

Each month's two winning entries will appear in The A3 Review, a fold-out literary and art magazine published every six  months. The current issue is Issue 10 (The Triangles Issue), which came out in April 2019.

Issue 11 (The Squares Issue): The two winning entries from each month, March - August 2019,  will make up the list of contributors to Issue 11. From this list, three overall winning entries will be chosen in September 2019. These three ultimate winners will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx $325, $195, $95). Issue 11 will appear in October 2019.

Issue 12 (The "T" Issue): The two winning entries from each month, September 2019 - February 2020,  will make up the list of contributors to Issue 12. From this list, three overall winning entries will be chosen in March 2020. These three ultimate winners will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx $325, $195, $95). Issue 11 will appear in April 2020.

Writing: Up to 150 words for prose and poetry (title not included). Poems no longer than 30 lines.

Art: Must fit into an A6 panel. That's about 4" x 6" or 10 x 15cm. Please send as low-res in the first instance. If your work is accepted, we'll ask for a hi-res image.

There is a fee of $5 (approx £3.50) per entry to help us cover admin and printing costs and to make sure we can keep offering cash prizes.

Follow us on Twitter for conversation, updates and inspiration. Sign up to The A3 Review newsletter here.

These are The Rules for our monthly contests:

1. Entry fee is $5 (approx £3.50) per submission. Multiple entries are welcome, though each must be uploaded as a separate submission.

2. Enter online through Submittable. 

3. Each contest closes on the 4th Saturday of the month.

4. Any entries submitted after the deadline will not be eligible.

5. The A3 Review's Monthly Contest is open to all writers and artists over 16.

6. We encourage prose, poems, prose poems, graphic stories, hybrid forms, photography, illustration, painting.

7. Maximum number of words is 150. Poems must be no longer than 30 lines.

8. Artwork, graphic and comics stories must fit into an A6 panel.

9. Two winning entries from each month with appear in The A3 Review to be published every 6 months. From this shortlist of winners, 3 will be chosen to win cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

10. Entries must be available for The A3 Review, and must not have been previously published (including on blogs).

11. The judges' verdict is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

12. Entries cannot be substituted once they have been submitted.

13. Judging is anonymous. 

14. Name and contact details must not appear on the entries.

15. Submission of entry is taken to be an unqualified acceptance of these rules.

The A3 Press publishes chapbooks of prose, poetry and art. We are currently open for submissions until the 10th of December 2019.

Do you have a series of poems or short stories, or maybe a long story that can be spread out over several pages? How about a short play in 12 parts or scenes, or even 12 very short plays? Do you have a combination of drawings and short stories? Or poems and photographs? Or maybe 12 drawings or photographs without text that would fit into our A3 map-fold format?

Think of us as a place for work that might struggle to find a traditional home, work that's lyrical and intense, a bit weird, perhaps, hybrid, experimental. We also welcome work that's traditionally beautiful. We like work that is urgent, that says something about what it's like to be alive at this point in history.  

We publish 3-6 new titles every six months. Visit The A3 Press site to get a sense of what we like.

Each title receives individual care. As we do with all our publications, we want The A3 Press' titles to be intriguing objects as well as inspiring and thought-provoking reads. We work closely with our writers and artists throughout the editing process, and will make sure the design, paper, and packaging are relevant to each title. 

PLEASE NOTE: The one thing all A3 Press titles have in common is our signature A3 map-fold format. You can see what that looks like by browsing our titles, as well as The A3 Review and our Writing Maps.

Some examples of possible manuscripts: 

  • 12 - 14 poems
  • 12 - 14 page comic, depending on size of panels
  • 12 - 14 short stories (each story approx 150-200 words)
  • 1 longer short story or poem (2000-2500 words)
  • 12 very short plays or a play in 12 parts
  • 12 - 14 photographs or illustrations
  • 7 stories with 7 photographs or illustrations

We encourage you to visualise how you work will appear in our A3 map-fold format. If you have layout and design ideas, please include your suggestions in the same document as your submission.

Our chapbooks look like maps, so you might want to send us work that is structured around a physical or emotional journey, or work about getting lost (or found). Each chapbook has about 14 panels, some of which may be taken up by images. Do you have a work that divides nicely into 12 sections? A series of 12 sonnets? A story told in 12 chapters? These are just some suggestions. We encourage new and intriguing ways of working with the page.

Please do spread the word about our new publishing venture, especially among friends and writing networks where experimental, urgent and necessary work is being created.

DEADLINE: 10 December 2019

A shortlist will be announced on the 5th of January, and the winning titles will be announced on the 1st of February.

The submission fee is $20 (approx £15) per submission. Multiple submissions are welcome, as are all genres. All writers and artists welcome.

The submission fee ensures that we can design and print our titles to the highest standards, and most importantly, it means we can pay our artists and writers.

The selected titles will each receive £200 (approx. $255) and 10 copies of their title.

We welcome collaborative work, though payment of £200 is per title. Previously published work is acceptable, though not if your work has been published in its entirety.

Please submit your work, along with any design and layout suggestions, as a single document.

Welcome to The A3 Review's October Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Trees. As we write this, the forests in the Amazon are being burnt. More than 2,500 fires. Maybe it's too early for poetry or maybe it's the right time. Write about trees and what they mean in your life, what they mean to the planet. What would Mary Oliver say? Find inspiration in Catherine Bowman's "Story of a Tree." You could write the [BIG TREE] companion to e.e. cumming's "[little tree]."

Write about your writing desk and the tree it is made of. Use the parts of a tree as subheadings: leaf, branch, trunk, root. Explore their metaphorical resonances. Or write about barking up the wrong tree, not seeing the wood for the trees. And "money doesn't grown on trees," she said.

Write the tree hugger's soliloquy, or the monologue of a tree surgeon. Tell the story of finding shelter in a treehouse.

For more tree inspiration, check out our Writing with Fabulous Trees Map.

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter.

DEADLINE: 26 October 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here.

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #12 of The A3 Review in early April 2020. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps.

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the September till February contests will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

Welcome to The A3 Review's November Contest

The prompt for this month's Contest is: Tablets. Tablets, tabs, pills, medication, drugs. We want to see and read what you have to say about them. Addiction, salvation, reliance, lifeline. If you're addicted to your iPad, then there's that kind of tablet, too. Now's the time to write that iPad poem, "Ode to My Tablet."

We want Issue 12 to be more topical than usual, so we've called it The "T" Issue. Be political, take risks, overshare. You could write about the different ways we use pills and tablets, to help us sleep, to relieve pain, to calm an irritable bowel, to keep infections and illnesses at bay.

Consider also capsules and lozenges. Or taking tabs in clubs. Or how pills can restore us. "Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down" - explore that, in the most delightful way. Write about coming off medication or going on to it. Be inspired by the intensely personal and honest poetry of Cynthia Huntington, Danez Smith, and Alan R. Shapiro.

We welcome short stories, flash fiction, poetry, comics, graphic stories, a snippet of memoir, photographs, illustrations, and any combination of the above. The only restriction is a word-limit of 150 and images should fit well into an A6 panel.

Visit us on Twitter.

DEADLINE: 23 November 2019

Please make sure to view our full guidelines here.

Entry fee is $5 (approx £3) per submission. Multiple submissions welcome.

All genres welcome. All writers and artists welcome.

The two winning entries from each month's contest will be published in Issue #12 of The A3 Review in early April 2020. Winners will also receive contributor copies and Writing Maps.

CASH PRIZES: Three overall winners of the September till February contests will receive cash prizes: 1st = £250, 2nd = £150, 3rd = £75 (approx: 1st = $325, 2nd: $195, 3rd: $95).

Good luck and we look forward to seeing your work!

PS. We offer feedback on submissions after the deadline date. If you'd like suggestions on ways to strengthen your work, just add the Brief Critique option to your submission fee, and we'll provide you with a line edit of your work, along with a 200-word critique.

The A3 Review offers a Brief Critique Service for writers looking for knowledgeable and forward-looking feedback on their work. We are passionate about writing and believe strongly that rewriting and refining a poem or short story is an essential and satisfying part of a writer's development. 

We will suggest ways to revisit and strengthen your short story or poem. Through our feedback, we aim to offer you tools to carry forward into other stories and poems you are working on.

Critiques are for prose and poetry up to 150 words.

An overview of what we offer:

  • 200-word feedback
  • a line edit of your work via Track Changes
  • where relevant, suggestions for further reading

We look forward to being part of the ongoing development of your work.

About the Editor:

Shaun Levin, Editor, is the author of Seven Sweet Things, Trees at a Sanatorium, and the short story collections A Year of Two Summers and Snapshots of The Boy. His short stories and essays have been anthologised alongside writers such as Ali Smith, Nadine Gordimer and Edmund White. He has won an Arts Council Writers' Award and the Moment-Karma Short Fiction Prize, judged by Jonathan Safran Foer. Shaun is the founding editor of the literary magazine Chroma, and the creator of Writing Maps. Anthologies he has edited include Things that Have Happened and Writers in the Crowd.

What people say:

"Shaun's biggest gift to me was to teach me never to be satisfied with  the mediocre - to dig beneath my words until I found their core beauty  or anger or power; in other words to find the truth of what I was trying  to say." Rosie Rowell, author of Leopold Blue.

"I was impressed by the breadth and depth of the service, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for the kind of feedback that is both challenging and supportive. A combination of written critique and detailed edit of my manuscript provided tremendous scope for my learning, and helped identify the most critical areas for focus." Dr Jacqui Scholes-Rhodes.

The A3 Review and Press